World Trade Center Redesign Competition

World Trade Center redesign competition was held after the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation through a press release in august 2002 declared a design study for the reconstruction of the Ground Zero site. In the coming month, the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation along with the New York New Visions which was formed as a result of alliance of twenty one architecture, engineering, planning, landscape architecture and design companies unveiled the names of seven semifinalists to take part in redesign World Trade Center competition. The names of the seven finalists who were to compete with each other in the upcoming competition for World Trade Center redesign to become the chief architect for the World Trade Center were as:

• Foster and Partners headed by Norman Foster, who happens to be well known British architect.

• Studio Daniel Libeskind headed by Daniel Libeskind who works as an architect, artist, and set designer in America.

• Meier Eisenman Gwathmey Holl also known as the Dream Team comprises of well known architects like Peter Eisenman, Richard Meier, Charles Gwathmey and Steven Holl.

• The THINK Team having Shigeru Ban, Frederic Schwartz, Ken Smith, Rafael Vinoly as its members.

• The United Architects

The seventh name which was to take part in the Ground Zero redesign competition was that of Peterson Littenberg which was a small architecture firm based in New York City. This firm dad been engaged by the Lower Manhattan Development Corporation earlier as its consultant firm.

When the competition for World Trade Center redesign held, all the seven teams submitted their entries to the public on December 18, 2002. However, later on finalists such as Skidmore, Owings & Merrill backed out from competition for World Trade Center redesign.

Then on February 1, 2003, in the World Trade Center redesign competition the names of two finalists were announced and they were the THINK Team and Studio Daniel Libeskind. On February 27, 2003, it was announced that the team of Studio Daniel Libeskind have won the World Trade Center redesign competition to become the master planner for the Ground Zero redesign. However the original proposal submitted by this winning team underwent several changes during collaboration with Larry Silverstein, and Skidmore, Owings and Merrill, which were hired by Silverstein. It is important to know that although Libeskind won the redesign World Trade Center competition, the individual buildings at the Ground Zero have been designed by various architects.

Latest Releases


Our Recommended Sites

  • casino com
  • Latest Releases

  • An Overview Regarding The World Trade Center Before the Attacks ,
    Know more in detail regarding World Trade Center before the attacks. Read the given information to learn useful details about ground zero before the attacks., 07/15/2010 03:00 PM